Team from eSwatini at the final round of the de la Vega Global Entrepreneurship Award

June 2021 Global

Tomorrow Foundation is very proud to announce that Team Edu-Buddies from Eswatini, who won the Tomorrow Foundation Future Tech/Innovation award during the JA Africa 2019 Company of the Year final competition, and received a specific donation from the Foundation, represented Africa during the final round of the de la Vega Global Entrepreneurship Award.

The de la Vega Global Entrepreneurship Award recognizes outstanding JA entrepreneurs and was created by Ralph de la Vega, former President and CEO of AT&T Mobile and Business Solutions. The first-place team from each of the six annual regional JA student-company competitions (including Company of the Year, Young Entrepreneurs Competition, and National Student Leadership Summit) are automatically entered as finalists for the award. The winning team receives awards, plus US $15,000 and educational opportunities. In addition to the first-place prize, each of the five other teams win US $5,000 to share among team members, to invest back into their businesses, or start new ventures.

The finalists included teams from Singapore, Denmark, eSwatini, Southeast Texas, Oman and Peru. Team Bubbles from Denmark won the award with their noise-cancelling headsets improving communication between educators and students who suffer from attention deficit and hyperactivity disorders (ADHD). In addition to the $15,000 and support to enroll in an entrepreneurship course, each team member had the pleasant surprise to receive a non-fungible token—or NFT— of one of only five copies of a digital graphic specially designed for this year’s winner by designer and artist Masha Eizner, with its authenticity verified through the blockchain.

Tomorrow Foundation is a Gold Sponsor of the African Company of the Year competition. The 2021 edition was the first virtual attempt due to the Covid-19. It exceeded all expectations, reaching over 15,000 students/viewers across 14 countries in Africa.

Photo gallery (click to enlarge)